Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu

Mandatory Georgia Parenting Seminars – Information and Locations

FatherDaughter2

In child custody actions in Georgia, such as a divorce with minor children and child custody modification actions, Georgia Courts require that both parties attend a seminar designed to assist parents in dealing with the effects of divorce and custody proceedings on children. These seminars cover such topics as:

  • The developmental stages of childhood;
  • The needs of children at different ages;
  • Stress indicators for children;
  • Divorce as a stage of growth;
  • The grief process;
  • Reducing stress during the divorce process;
  • Changing parental and marital roles;
  • Financial obligations of child rearing; and
  • Conflict management and resolution.

Divorcing parties and litigants are not required to attend the course together, but both are required to attend the course at some point before the Court enters a final order in the case. The required timing of the course depends on the county in which your legal action is pending. These courses are held numerous times each year, and, more recently, have started to be offered entirely online in most counties.

Each County Superior Court approaches the requirement a bit differently. Thus, it is important that parties to a custody dispute have a clear understanding of the rules and requirements for completing the seminar as required by the rules of the Court in which their case is pending. If you are unsure about how to proceed, please do not hesitate to reach out to the child custody attorneys at Buckhead Family Law to assist you in finding, registering for, and taking a seminar approved in your jurisdiction.

For informational purposes, seminar information for Atlanta’s largest metro-area counties is provided below. This information is subject to change, and you should always consult with the Court’s latest orders and your attorney at Buckhead Family Law before registering for any course.

Cherokee County

Deadline: Within 30 days of service, but no later than final hearing.

Fee: $50

Offered Online? Yes (https://www.adr9.com/)

Registration Information: https://www.cherokeega.com/Clerk-of-Courts/superior-court-clerks-office/parenting-seminar/

Clayton County

Deadline: Not specified by Court, btu before conclusion of case.

Fee: $30

Offered Online? No

Registration Information: https://www.claytoncountyga.gov/government/court-services/court-administrator/divorcing-parents

Cobb County

Deadline: Within reasonable time after service of complaint and before case is concluded.

Fee: $50

Offered Online? No

Registration Information: https://www.cobbcounty.org/courts/superior-court/administration/programs

DeKalb County

Deadline: Within 31 days of service of complaint

Fee: $50

Offered Online? Yes

Registration Information: https://www.dekalbsuperiorcourt.com/parenting-seminar/

Forsyth County

Deadline: Within 31 days of service of complaint

Fee: $50

Offered Online? Yes

Registration Information: https://www.adr9.com/DIVORCING-PARENTS-SEMINAR.html

Fulton County

Deadline: Within 30 days of service of complaint

Fee: $30

Offered Online? Yes (http://learning.familiesfirst.org/)

Registration Information: https://www.fultoncourt.org/family/family-fit.php

Gwinnett County

Deadline: Within 31 days of service of complaint

Fee: $40

Offered Online? Yes

Registration Information: https://www.gwinnettcourts.com/court-programs/parenting-seminar.aspx

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media

© 2018 - 2020 Buckhead Family Law. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.